Walt Weiskopf – Night Lights

Artist: Walt Weiskopf
Title: Night Lights
Year Of Release: 1995
Label: Double-Time Jazz
Genre: Jazz
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 62:09 min
Total Size: 141 MB

01. You Go To My Head
02. With The Wind And The Rain In Her Hair
03. Moonlight On The Ganges
04. Some Other Time
05. Baubles, Bangles And Beads
06. Night Owl
07. Camelot
08. Night Lights
09. Herbie’s Lament
10. I Wish I Knew

Walt Weiskopf performs seven standards and three originals on this quartet set with pianist Joel Weiskopf, bassist Drew Gress and drummer Steve Davis. Weiskopf, who has written an instructional book on John Coltrane’s style, sounds too close for comfort to ‘Trane on this otherwise enjoyable set. He is certainly a technically gifted player and his versions of such tunes as "You Go to My Head," "Moonlight on the Ganges," "Some Other Time" and "I Wish I Knew" are reasonably adventurous but Weiskopf should really work on developing his own musical personality. ~Scott Yanow




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *