VA – Super Cool: California Soul 2 (2007) FLAC

Artist: Various Artists
Title: Super Cool: California Soul 2
Year Of Release: 2007
Label: Luv N Haight
Genre: Funk, Jazz, Soul
Quality: FLACs (tracks)
Total Time: 40:17
Total Size: 249 Mb


01. Gow Dow Experience – Compared To What (3:19)
02. Buddy Conner – Half-Way Loving (2:29)
03. Pat Hunt – Supercool (2:05)
04. Joey Jefferson Band – Revolution Rap (4:04)
05. Mokie JJ & ROB – Beverly (2:52)
06. Carmelita – Isn't It Lonely (2:24)
07. Sy Hightower – I Know You're Leaving Me (3:39)
08. Spanky Wilson – Fancy (5:27)
09. LAPD – Big Herm (6:35)
10. Johnny Morisette – I'm Hungry (3:19)
11. David Glover – We Got To Get It Together (4:06)

Comprised of tracks recorded between 1966 and 1982, this second volume of rare, regional, and unsung California soul and funk releases from Luv N' Haight Records is delightfully varied and interesting, running the gamut from soul-jazz to fervent funk. Nothing collected here was a big hit, although gems like the Gow Dow Experience's careful reinterpretation of Gene McDaniels' classic "Compared to What" (there are actually two different mixes of the song included) and Darondo's "Such a Night," featuring beautiful, high-soaring lead vocals that would have made Marvin Gaye proud, easily could have been breakouts with proper promotion and distribution. Other highlights include Sy Hightower's Northern soul-styled "I Know You're Leaving Me," originally released in 1975 on Carmen Records, and the Gow Dow Experience's sleek, racing take on Horace Silver's "Psychedelic Sally." Also worth mentioning is Rodney Trotter's odd, helium-soaked "Space Nigga," which features guest spots (as in, they dropped in from another planet) from Funkadelic's Tiki Fulwood, Eddie Hazel, and Billy "Bass" Nelson. Vibrant and fun, this set is sure to delight fans of soul and funk, but there are more than enough commercial, Motown-like tracks to give it an appeal to even more general listeners. Super cool, indeed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *