VA – Soul Summit

Artist: VA
Title: Soul Summit
Year Of Release: 1992
Label: Prestige
Genre: Jazz / Vocal Jazz / Soul
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 74:04 min
Total Size: 169 MB

01. Jack McDuff – Tubby
02. Gene Ammons – Dumplin’
03. Jack McDuff – When You Wish Upon A Star
04. Jack McDuff – Shuffle Twist
05. Jack McDuff – Sleeping Susan
06. Jack McDuff – Out In The Cold Again
07. Jack McDuff – Love, I’ve Found You
08. Etta Jones – But Not For Me
09. Oliver Nelson, Clark Terry, Red Holloway – Too Marvelous For Words
10. Etta Jones – If You’re But A Dream
11. Jack McDuff – Scram
12. Jack McDuff – Ballad For Baby
13. Etta Jones – Cool Cool Daddy

The two early-’60s LPs in the Soul Summit series featured some of the many collaborations of tenors Gene Ammons and Sonny Stitt, who are joined by organist Jack McDuff and drummer Charlie Persip. Their six performances are primarily riff tunes, with "When You Wish Upon a Star" taken at a medium pace and "Out in the Cold Again" the lone ballad. The second half of this CD, which features both volumes, features Ammons on two songs ("Love, I’ve Found You" and a swinging "Too Marvelous for Words") with a big band arranged by Oliver Nelson, jamming "Ballad for Baby" with a quintet, sitting out "Scram" (which stars McDuff and the tenor of Harold Vick), and backing singer Etta Jones on three numbers, of which "Cool, Cool Daddy" is the most memorable. Overall, this is an interesting and consistently swinging set that adds to the large quantity of recordings that the great Ammons did during the early ’60s. ~Scott Yanow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *