VA – Something Got A Hold On Me: The Ru-Jac Records Story, Vol 1: 1963-1964 (2018)

Artist: VA
Title: Something Got A Hold On Me: The Ru-Jac Records Story, Vol 1: 1963-1964
Year Of Release: 2018
Label: Omnivore Recordings
Genre: Soul, RnB, Funk, Oldies
Quality: 320 kbps | FLAC (tracks+digital booklet)
Total Time: 01:07:20
Total Size: 156 mb | 279 mb


01. Lamont Esquires – Fatback (Take 1)
02. Jessie Crawford – Please Don’t Go (with Kay Keys Band)
03. Jessie Crawford – I Love You So (with Kay Keys Band)
04. Little Sonny Daye – A Woman Like You (with The Shyndells Band)
05. Little Sonny Daye – I’m Through With You (with The Shyndells Band)
06. Jeanne Dee – Every Day I Have The Blues (Take 2)
07. (Mr. T) Tiny Tim – Saving All My Loving
08. (Mr. T) Tiny Tim – It’s Everything To Me
09. Celestine – I Want To Be Sure
10. Celestine – You Won
11. Flattop Bobby & The Soul Twisters – Cross Track (Take 2)
12. Winfield Parker – When I’m Alone
13. Brenda Jones – Can’t You See
14. Brenda Jones – Let’s Go Back To School
15. That’s All You Have To DoBrenda Jones
16. Winfield Parker – One Of These Mornings (Take 3)
17. Charles Johnson – Put A Light In The Window
18. Fruitland Harmonizers – My Father Watches Over Me
19. Fruitland Harmonizers – Take Care Of Me
20. Something Got A Hold On MeRu-Jac Records
21. The Teardrops Band – All Over Again (feat. Marie Allen)
22. The Teardrops Band – Crying Won’t Help You (feat. Marie Allen)
23. Ru-Jac Records – Trash Can
24. Rockin’ Robin – Don’t Bit Mo
25. James Hill – Foolish To Try
26. The Jolly Jax – Meadow Of Love
27. The Jolly Jax – The Money Cha Cha
28. The Jolly Jax – Joe (Take 5)

THE BALTIMORE SOUL/R&B LABEL RU-JAC RECORDS WAS FOUNDED IN 1963 by local promoter Rufus Mitchell and investor partner Jack Bennett (their names forming the Ru-Jac name). The label primarily released regional soul/R&B singles from 1963 until the mid 1970s, when Mitchell stepped away to focus on another business venture. Omnivore has already released single-artist packages by some of the label’s biggest names, including Winfi eld Parker Mr. Clean: Winfield Parker At Ru-Jac (Parker also serves as the consulting producer for all of Omnivore’s Ru-Jac releases) and Gene & Eddie True Enough: Gene & Eddie With Sir Joe At Ru-Jac. In January, Omnivore will roll out two various artists volumes followed by two more in February, collecting for the very fi rst time anywhere the audio history of Ru-Jac Records. Each volume is produced by the Grammy® Award-winning producer Cheryl Pawelski and Kevin Coombe, East Coast soul historian. Coombe provides liner notes detailing the rise and eventual closure of the label, and its close ties to the segregated beaches and performance spaces of the region. Rare photos and ephemera will be included in each volume to help illustrate and trace the history of the label. Utilizing original tapes, extremely collectible 45s, and acetates, all four volumes underwent extensive restoration and mastering by Grammy® Award winning engineer, Michael Graves. Volume One, Something Got a Hold on Me: The Ru-Jac Records Story Volume One, 1963-1964 contains 28 tracks, 10 of them previously unissued. The other 18 tracks chart the history of the first 45s issued by the label and includes songs by Winfield Parker, Flattop Bobby & The Soul Twisters, and Brenda Jones among others. 320 kbps



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *