VA – Movements Vol 9 (2018)

Artist: VA
Title: Movements Vol 9
Year Of Release: 2018
Label: Tramp Records
Genre: Funk, Soul, RnB
Quality: MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 01:05:00
Total Size: 137 Mb

The announcement is especially striking when it comes to the prestigious Movements series. Like all its predecessors, this ninth volume contains Rare Groove nuggets recorded between the early 1960s and the late 1970s. The fact that only one of the songs appear anywhere else is a jaw-dropping phenomenon! The chronological track listing starts with two amazing cover versions: Fever by Gee Gee Shinn & the Boogie Kings and I’m A Woman by Connie Kaye Trio. Bus Brown, Earl Demus and Chuck Finney remain in the same direction although their contributions are slightly jazzier. Chick Willis’ gut-wrenching Sometime Soon easily rivals James Brown’s It’s A Man’s World and the recordings by Australia, J.R. and Joe Akens are beautiful examples of privately produced soul from the 1970s.
01 Fever Gee Gee Shinn & Boogie Kings 2:47
02 I’m a Woman Connie Kaye Trio 2:57
03 Mr. L.B.J. Bus Brown 2:54
04 Her Spare Earl Demus Band 1:46
05 I Want a Man Like You Chuck Finney Combo 2:42
06 Sometimes Soon Chick Willis 5:39
07 Wide Awake Australia 3:20
08 Any Time Now J.R. 3:17
09 Nice Joe Akens 3:21
10 Cho Cho San Hummingbird 4 3:30
11 Burnt Flesh Evangeline Made 3:49
12 Brother, Where Are You Dario & The Inferno 4:54
13 Upside Down Swoop 2:45
14 What You Getting High On Mel-O-Madnezz 3:05
15 You Got It You 3:46
16 Harlem Shuffle Theme Hot Cakes 3:23
17 When the Well Runs Dry Reunion 3:33
18 Get Up, Get Dancin’ The Counts 2:37



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *