VA – Movements, Vol. 6 (2014) FLAC

Artist: Various Artists
Title: Movements, Vol. 6
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Tramp Records
Genre: Funk, Soul
Quality: FLACs (tracks)
Total Time: 56:17
Total Size: 381 Mb


01. Clarence Daniels and Obie Jessie – Hard Working Girl (2:37)
02. Rudy Lambert – Love (2:38)
03. Dynamic Duke Royal – I Wanna Know (2:21)
04. The Impacts – Thunder Chicken (2:59)
05. Arnold Albury & the Casuals – Thanks For Waiting (2:49)
06. Ural Thomas – Pain Is The Name Of Your Game (4:43)
07. Roy Porter Sounds – Lonesome Mood (2:31)
08. Bob French's Storyville Jazz Band – St. James Infirmary (3:21)
09. Marie Adams & the Tommy Dodson All-Stars – That's The Way To Get Along (3:17)
10. Los Keys – Mister T.C.B. Pt.1 (2:19)
11. Los Keys – Mister T.C.B. Pt.2 (2:24)
12. Billy Young – Suffering With A Hangover Pt.1 (2:23)
13. Billy Young – Suffering With A Hangover Pt.2 (2:19)
14. Little Mell – Ain't That Funky Monkey Fonky (vocal) (2:55)
15. Little Mell – Ain't That Funky Monkey Fonky (instrumental) (2:02)
16. Marvelle & the Blue Mats – The Dance Called The Motion (2:31)
17. Changes – Feel So Bad (5:27)
18. Society Inc. – Disc Jockey Jam (3:00)
19. The Dell Vikings – Welfare Blues (3:21)
20. Professor Lett & Study – We Oughta Get Together (3:06)

The 'Movements' saga started in 2005 by music maven Tobias Kirmayer in association with a fellow German label, 'Perfect Toy'. His goal was – and still is – to discover, study, and properly represent great black american music that is at risk of being lost or forgotten. Today, his illustrious label: Tramp Records, proudly releases the 6th volume of this essential series. Though the track listing still contains amazing music you may never hear elsewhere, the series has matured since its first volume. The track selection has become more open minded, compiling ballads and soul-jazz tunes, even proto-disco in addition to the rare funk Tramp fans expect. Tracks are selected in chronological order so that the listener may get an impression of the development of of the art form from jazz to rhythm and blues to rock & roll to soul and of course – funk. As the website states: "we ain't going for bootlegs," so, whenever possible, Tramp sought out and was granted permission to release each track from the original musicians who are very often in their late seventies now. He took that opportunity to interview them about their careers, their groups, and the recording sessions from which these gems arose. The artists' stories are meticulously published in extensive liner notes which are printed in the included full-color booklet. Their own words illuminate the colorful backstory behind each track.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *