VA – The Last Sense to Leave Us, A Tribute to Pauline Oliveros (2017)

Artist: VA
Title: The Last Sense to Leave Us, A Tribute to Pauline Oliveros
Year Of Release: 2017
Label: Rural Colours
Genre: Electronic, Ambient, Modern Classical
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
Total Time: 72:23 min
Total Size: 330 MB


01. Alison Cotton – The Last Sense To Leave Us 06:01
02. Brona McVittie – You Are My Sister 04:37
03. Oliver Cherer and Keiron Phelan – PO4c 05:00
04. David Colohan – 321 Divisadero Street 06:11
05. Isnaj Dui – The Homebody 04:48
06. Thollem Electric – Ballad For Pauline 04:11
07. The New Honey Shade – 7 Accordions (for Pauline Oliveros) 04:56
08. James Stringer – Drivende 04:37
09. Neotropic – O 05:40
10. Anne Garner – Brink 06:15
11. The Hardy Tree – Signs of Spring 04:40
12. Michael Tanner – After Lear; For Hurdy Gurdy and Bowed Dulcimer 15:27

Working from the 1950s onwards and best known as the creator of Deep Listening, Oliveros primarily utilised electronic, vocal and improvisational media. A composer and musical theorist of considerable scope, intelligence and sensitivity, her life-long aim was to develop new and more profound ways of hearing music.

This project was inspired by Phelan and Cherer’s attendance at one of Pauline’s last public appearances, at St. John Smiths Square in summer 2016, during which she led the audience in a performance of her composition ‘Tuning Meditation’, both feeling it to be a singularly memorable and moving experience.

By drawing upon Oliveros’ principles the thirteen musicians featured on this compilation have fashioned dedicated pieces, using a variety of musical palettes and compositional styles, to reflect both Oliveros’ own wide ranging talent and the influence that her work has had upon their own practice.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *