VA – God Don’t Never Change: The Songs Of Blind Willie Johnson (2016)

Artist: Various Artists
Title: God Don't Never Change: The Songs Of Blind Willie Johnson
Year Of Release: 2016
Genre: Blues, Country, Folk
Quality: Mp3, 320 kbps
Total Time: 41:56 mins
Total Size: 101 Mb


01 Tom Waits – The Soul Of A Man (3:30)
02 Lucinda Williams – Nobody's Fault But Mine (3:56)
03 Derek Trucks & Susan Tedeschi – Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning (3:12)
04 Cowboy Junkies – Jesus Is Coming Soon (4:17)
05 The Blind Boys of Alabama – Mother's Children Have a Hard Time (4:42)
06 Sinéad O'Connor – Trouble Will Soon Be Over (3:19)
07 Luther Dickinson Featuring the Rising Star Fife & Drum Band – Bye and Bye I'm Going To See The King (3:54)
08 Lucinda Williams – God Don't Never Change (4:24)
09 Tom Waits – John The Revelator (2:51)
10 Maria McKee – Let Your Light Shine on Me (3:59)
11 Rickie Lee Jones – Dark Was the Night–Cold Was the Ground (3:53)

A stunning collection of artists and performances celebrate the timeless music of legendary gospel bluesman Blind Willie Johnson. From Derek Trucks’ and Susan Tedeschi’s reverent reading of Keep Your Lamp Trimmed And Burning to Lucinda Williams’ slide guitar-fueled lament in Nobody’s Fault But Mine, from Luther Dickinson’s spirited take on Bye And Bye I’m Going To See The King (with The Rising Star Fife & Drum Band) to Tom Waits’ virtual embodiment of Johnson himself on The Soul Of A Man and John The Revelator, this record is packed with incomparable recordings that speak as much to the greatness of the performers as they do the enduring legacy of Blind Willie Johnson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *