Tony Williams – Young at Heart – 320kbps

Artist: Tony Williams
Title: Young at Heart
Year Of Release: 1996
Label: Columbia
Genre: Jazz
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 69:23 min
Total Size: 158 MB

01. Promethean
02. Young At Heart
03. On Green Dolphin Street
04. Farewell To Dogma
05. How My Heart Sings
06. Fool On The Hill
07. Neptune : Fear Not
08. You And The Night And The Music
09. Body And Soul
10. This Here
11. Summer Me, Winter Me

Drummer Tony Williams died suddenly, and tragically, in early 1997. His death struck hard, eliminating one of jazz rhythm’s sharpest innovators since the 1950s. Williams first made his brilliance clear in the second great Miles Davis Quintet of the early 1960s. He whirled like mad later, especially with his own jazz-rock fusion trio Lifetime. In between, he created rhythmic vapor trails behind Miles and increased the wobbly rhythmic ratio with artists like Eric Dolphy. Sadly, in Young at Heart, we have his final recording. With Mulgrew Miller and Ira Coleman, Williams sounds as complex and hitting as ever. The tunes vary from standards ("On Green Dolphin Street" is the best here) to Williams’s own tunes. Perhaps in honor of Williams, it sounds like the producer of Young miked Williams so he sounded louder, sometimes even domineering. But he was undoubtedly superb, and he mixes well with an unusually tough-toned Miller on the keys. –Andrew Bartlett

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *