Tom Rush – Ladies Love Outlaws (1974)

Artist: Tom Rush
Title: Ladies Love Outlaws
Year Of Release: 1974
Label: Columbia
Genre: Folk-Rock, Country, Singer-Songwriter
Quality: MP3 320 Kbps
Total Time: 35:41
Total Size: 106 Mb

01. Ladies Love Outlaws (02:31)
02. Hobo’s Mandolin (03:13)
03. Indian Woman From Wichita (04:20)
04. Maggie (03:34)
05. Desperados Waiting For the Train (03:31)
06. Claim On Me (04:10)
07. Jenny Lynn (03:02)
08. Black Magic Gun (03:27)
09. No Regrets (05:41)
10. One Day I Walk (02:16)

Returning to covering other people’s tunes, Tom Rush’s main strength, Ladies Love Outlaws plunges the listener full-tilt into the country-rock sound which so many were finding in the mid-’70s. Included here are Guy Clark’s "Desperados Waiting for a Train," Lee Clayton’s title track, and a stunning redo of Rush’s own "No Regrets" helped along by the likes of the Eagles and Carly Simon on backup. But the best is saved for last, where Rush covers Bruce Cockburn’s "One Day I Walk," showing that he hadn’t lost his touch. A bit rough in places, but well done for the most part.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *