Sy Oliver – Yes Indeed

Artist: Sy Oliver
Title: Yes Indeed
Year Of Release: 2007
Label: Disques Black & Blue
Genre: Jazz
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 38:16 min
Total Size: 101 MB

01. Yes Indeed
02. Rumble
03. Creole Love Call
04. Pennies From Heaven
05. Zonky
06. T’aint What You Do It’s The Way You Do It
07. Undecided
08. Sophisticated Lady
09. Ain’t She Sweet
10. Sy Oliver -Move

Born Melvin "Sy" Oliver on December 17, 1910, in Battle Creek, Michigan, he left home at age 17 to play trumpet with Zack Whyte and his Chocolate Beau Brummels. He later developed his growling trumpet style in Alphonso Trent’s territory band. Oliver joined Jimmie Lunceford’s band in 1933, playing trumpet and contributing many hit arrangements, including "My Blue Heaven" and "Ain’t She Sweet." In 1939, he became Tommy Dorsey’s main arranger, providing many hip arrangements for the group at the time (similar to Fletcher Henderson’s role with the rival Benny Goodman Orchestra during the same period). After leaving the Dorsey band, Oliver worked as a freelance arranger, including 10 years as musical director at Decca Records, during which time he presided over arrangements of recordings for Ella Fitzgerald. He continued leading his own nine-piece band through the ’70s and retired from the music scene in 1984. He passed away on May 29, 1988, at age 77. ~Bill Milkowski

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *