Sinikka Langeland – The Magical Forest (2016)

Artist: Sinikka Langeland
Title: The Magical Forest
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: ECM Records [ECM 2448 / 477 6831]
Genre: Jazz, Nordic Traditions, Folk, Avant-Garde Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue,log)
Total Time: 47:04
Total Size: 466 MB
216 MB (Scans)

The colours of The Magical Forest glow in this remarkable recording which brings together Sinikka Langeland’s Norwegian-Finnish-Swedish Starflowers quintet with the singers of the Trio Mediӕval. It’s an inspired concept: the Trio Mediӕval, with their affinity for folk music and their unique vocal blend, adapt themselves ideally to Sinikka’s sound-world, which is once archaic, timeless and contemporary. The quintet members, all bandleaders in their own right, are amongst the most characterful players in Scandinavia today, and Sinikka sets them free to improvise around her cycle of songs, built upon myths and legends of the world tree. The Magical Forest was recorded at Oslo’s Rainbow Studio in February 2015, and produced by Manfred Eicher.

01 – Puun Loitsu
02 – Sammas
03 – Jacob’s Dream
04 – The Wolfman
05 – The Magical Forest
06 – Koyri
07 – Kamui
08 – Karsikko
09 – Pillar To Heaven
Sinikka Langeland Kantele, Vocals
Arve Henriksen Trumpet
Trygve Seim Soprano Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone
Anders Jormin Double Bass
Markku Ounaskari Percussion
Trio Mediaeval
Anna Maria Friman Vocals
Berit Opheim Vocals
Linn Andrea Fuglseth Vocals

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *