Robert Lindsay Nathan – The Long Road (2016)

Artist: Robert Lindsay Nathan
Title: The Long Road
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Cactusclef Publishing
Genre: Country, Americana
Quality: 320/Flac
Total Time: 57:53
Total Size: 143/393 Mb
WebSite: Album Preview

1. Sail Away
2. Back Bar Blues
3. Calico Heart
4. Colbert County Blues
5. Don’t Tell Me
6. Down & out in Dudeville
7. Martyr’s Song
8. Girl from the South
9. My Mother’s Smile
10. Moments
11. Rumplestiltskin
12. Mr. Clark
13. Second Hand Lions
14. The Long Road
15. The Builder
16. Sail Away (Reprise)

As the title reflects, this record has been some forty years in the works.
Even though it got put off all these years, it’s been number one on my bucket list of things to do; create a studio quality work with world class musicians. I was so lucky to have been advised by my good friend Gary Cross to seek out Mark Hallman and his Congress House Studio in South Austin to produce this work. Mark had the contacts that were needed and the team came together into something that I never dreamed could be.
We started recording in the Fall of 2009 and then had to abruptly stop in the Spring of 2010 as my funding for the project had to be diverted to problems that I was having with the IRS. It took all of five years to resolve this. Finally, in the fall of 2015, I was back on my feet and we concluded the work in the spring of 2016.
Looking back on it all, I don’t think that I would have had such a good result had this project been completed 20 years ago. I didn’t have the confidence, maturity or experience and I certainly wasn’t in the right place.
If you bought my self produced release of San Diego Sessions (recorded in a hotel room in San Diego), you will find several songs from that album on this release. These tracks on The Long Road are much more polished versions.
The Long Road album includes 15 tracks including one hidden bonus track. There is something for everyone here, including one song with a Caribbean/Latin flavor, several folk ballads, a southern rock/blues piece and a country swing song.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *