Prince Phillip Mitchell – Top Of The Line (1979) [2013 Japan]

Artist: Prince Phillip Mitchell
Title: Top Of The Line [Japan]
Year Of Release: 2013 (1979)
Label: Atlantic (Japan) [WPCR-27688]
Genre: R&B, Funk, Soul
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue,log)
Total Time: 47:51
Total Size: 466 MB
169 MB (Scans)

Digitally remastered and expanded edition of the veteran Soulster’s 1979 album. A veteran composer, vocalist, guitarist, and pianist, Prince Phillip Mitchell’s roots are in vintage R&B, although he has achieved semi-cult status in Soul circles. Mitchell sang with both The Premiers and The Checkmates in the early ’60s. He wrote hits recorded by Mel & Tim, Millie Jackson, Joe Simon, Archie Bell & The Drells and Candi Staton and Norman Connors. His second album for Atlantic, Top Of The Line, spawned the single ‘Paying The Price’ b/w ‘Let’s Get Wet’ which fared modestly on the US R&B chart, but the second single ‘I’m So Happy’ became an anthem on the UK’s Northern and Modern Soul scenes, and changes hands for exorbitant sums on the collector’s market. A previously unreleased Northern Soul-styled instrumental "Take Me Away" is included on this remastered and expanded re-issue.

01. Top Of The Line (6:49)
02. Use Your Body (5:12)
03. Highlight Of My Life (4:33)
04. In Between Lovers (5:07)
05. I’m So Happy (4:35)
06. If It Ain’t Love, I’ll Go Away (5:49)
07. Paying The Price (3:48)
08. Let’s Get Wet (7:13)
09. Take Me Away (instumental) (bonus Track) (4:43)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *