The New Mastersounds – Out On The Faultline (2012)

Artist: The New Mastersounds
Title: Out On The Faultline
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: One Note Records
Genre: Funk / Soul / Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks) / MP3
Total Time: 43:23 min
Total Size: 290 MB / 104 MB

01.You Mess Me Up [02:09]
02. Way Out West [03:14]
03. Yo Momma [03:50]
04. Mission Creep [03:02]
05. Ding-a-Ling [02:33]
06. Welcome To Nola [03:56]
07. Summercamp [08:44]
08. Redwood Jungle [02:41]
09. Each To Their Own [06:54]
10. Make Up Your Mind [02:40]
11. Turncoat [03:36]

The record opens with a classic slice of organ funk (think The Meters, but edgier), quickly followed up with other seriously catchy syncopated gems full of solos, inventive arrangements and gang vocals. There’s a nod in the direction of jazz-house (à la Saint Germaine), a rolling-piano-&-spoken-word homage to New Orleans (where the band has performed for the past six consecutive years), then a massive horn track before the tone of the album gradually shifts to close out with a psychedelic Hammond-rock sound reminiscent of Brian Auger. Eddie Roberts’ vintage production delivers warm soulful bass, choppy drums, funky organ & piano, and with Eddie’s signature roughneck jazz guitar throughout. ~

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *