Natural Velvet – Mirror to Make You (2017)

Artist: Natural Velvet
Title: Mirror to Make You
Year Of Release: 2017
Label: Friends Records
Genre: experimental, indie, post-punk
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
Total Time: 41:05 mins
Total Size: 250 MB

Natural Velvet is Corynne Ostermann (bass, vocals), Greg Hatem (drums), Spike Arreaga (guitar) and Kim Te (guitar). The post-punk quartet is known in their native Baltimore for a distinct sound that is both aggressive and catchy. Framed by washing guitars, vocals that alternately howl and harmonize, and throbbing drum sounds, Natural Velvet creates music that moves between gazey indie pop and guttural, “wall of sound” noise rock. Aggressive bass lines throughout tie together a dark and foreboding framework, ultimately leaving the listener with haunting melody and hypnotic rhythm. At times confrontational, at times seductive, Ostermann’s vocals guide the listener through dark rolling narratives of identity, existence, rage, and femininity.
The band began in 2012, and will be releasing Mirror To Make You on Friends Records in mid-2017.
Natural Velvet has self-released the following previous recordings Salome With the Head of John the Baptist (EP, 2013), Shame (2014), and released She Is Me in 2015 with Friends Records.
01. Natural Velvet – It’s All Mine
02. Natural Velvet – Darkened Eyes
03. Natural Velvet – Counterfeit
04. Natural Velvet – Vaseline
05. Natural Velvet – Gazed Upon
06. Natural Velvet – Crowning
07. Natural Velvet – Kristina
08. Natural Velvet – Raw Pearl King
09. Natural Velvet – Kronos
10. Natural Velvet – Universal Melody
11. Natural Velvet – Emblemata

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *