Mighty Mo Rodgers – Mud ‘n Blood: A Mississippi Blues Tale (2014) Lossless

Artist: Mighty Mo Rodgers
Title: Mud ‘n Blood: A Mississippi Blues Tale
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Dixiefrog Records
Genre: Blues, Modern Electric Blues, Blues Soul
Quality: Flac (tracks)
Total Time: 41:59
Total Size: 268 Mb

01. Goin’ South (0:23)
02. Haunted by the Blues (3:17)
03. The ghost of higway 61 (3:11)
04. Unmarked grave (2:13)
05. Run brother run (1:01)
06. Backroad blues (0:45)
07. Devil train boogie (3:18)
08. I got a call from the devil (2:10)
09. The people could fly (2:31)
10. Drivin’ up (0:32)
11. Juke joint jumpin’ (4:17)
12. White lightnin’ and high yella (3:33)
13. Love will only make u sweat (3:41)
14. Everybody needs the blues (2:39)
15. Thank you Mississippi (2:54)
16. Almost home (3:55)
17. Press conference (1:30)

Mighty Mo Rodgers (real name Maurice Rodgers) was born in Indiana where his father owned a club that featured blues performers. When Rodgers wasn’t studying classical piano he was checking out the blues artists that played there. Growing up, Rodgers was deeply affected by the mid-’60s soul music from the Memphis-based Stax label. Using Stax as an influence, Rodgers started his first band while in high school called the Rocketeers. Upon entering Indiana State College, Rodgers fronted another band, the Maurice Rodgers Combo, playing Wurlitzer piano and incorporating originals with cover versions of popular songs from the era. He finally decided to quit college, move to L.A., and give music his full-time attention. There he played gigs and recorded with many blues and R&B legends; his organ can be heard on Brenton Wood’s 1967 hit Gimme Little Sign. Throughout the years Rodgers has not limited himself to performing. In 1973 he produced the album Sonny and Terry on A&M records for Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee. After growing tired of tedious session work, he continued to write songs and became a house songwriter for Motown and Chappel Publishing. Rodgers also continued to produce sessions for other artists and decided to go back to school where he received a degree in philosophy. In 1999 he released his first solo effort, Blues Is My Wailin’ Wall, on Blue Thumb. The recording contained all original material, mixing his philosophical views with blues/soul musical roots.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *