Little Johnny Taylor – Greatest Hits (1991)

Artist: Little Johnny Taylor
Title: Greatest Hits
Year Of Release: 1991
Label: Fantasy Records
Genre: Blues Soul, R&B
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 48:40
Total Size: 125 MB

1. Part Time Love (3:52)
2. I Smell Trouble (2:42)
3. Zig Zag Lightning (2:23)
4. You’ll Need Another Favor (2:50)
5. Double Or Nothing (3:23)
6. Big Blue Diamonds (2:45)
7. Somebody’s Got To Pay (3:05)
8. Darling, Believe (2:04)
9. If You Love Me (2:34)
10. I Know You Hear Me Calling (2:57)
11. Sometimey Woman (2:14)
12. You Win, I Lose (2:36)
13. My Heart Is Filled With Pain (2:30)
14. First Class Love (3:44)
15. Since I Found A New Love (3:56)
16. Somewhere Down The Line (2:15)
17. One More Chance (2:41)

The gospel-tinged and decidedly soul-inflected 1963-1968 blues sides of Little Johnny Taylor on Galaxy Records benefitted from marvelous horn-powered arrangements by Ray Shanklin that brilliantly pushed Taylor’s melismatic vocals. Naturally, the impassioned "Part Time Love" is included, along with the Bobby Bland-tinged mid-tempo groover "You’ll Need Another Favor," a delicious "Since I Found a New Love," and the blistering "You Win, I Lose." Seventeen tracks in all, many of them bolstered by Arthur Wright’s stinging guitar. ~by Bill Dahl

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *