Lee Wiley – Sings The Songs Of George & Ira Gershwin And Cole Porter

Artist: Lee Wiley
Title: Sings The Songs Of George & Ira Gershwin And Cole Porter
Year Of Release: 1989
Label: Audiophile
Genre: Jazz / Vocal Jazz
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 51:48 min
Total Size: 115 MB

01. How Long Has This Been Going On
02. My One And Only (What Am I Gonna Do )
03. Sweet And Low Down
04. ‘s Wonderful
05. I’ve Got A Crush On You
06. Someone To Watch Over Me
07. Sam And Delilah
08. But Not For Me
09. Looking At You
10. Let’s Fly Away
11. Why Shouldn’t I
12. Hot-House Rose
13. You Do Something To Me
14. Find Me A Primitive Man
15. Easy To Love
16. Let’s Do It

Lee Wiley was the first jazz singer to record a full album (eight songs in the ’78’ days) dedicated to the music of one composer; her "songbooks" preceded Ella Fitzgerald’s by more than 15 years. The greatest recordings of her career were these four projects, the first two of which are on this Audiophile reissue. Wiley, who had an introverted and quietly straightforward yet sensuous (and somewhat smoldering) style, is heard singing eight songs apiece by the Gershwins and Cole Porter. Her accompaniment includes all-star groups headed by pianist Joe Bushkin and trumpeter Max Kaminsky (which include tenor-saxophonist Bud Freeman, clarinetist Pee Wee Russell and on four songs Fats Waller), a quartet with Bushkin and trumpeter Bunny Berigan, and Paul Weston’s Orchestra. Wiley’s renditions of such songs as "How Long Has This Been Going On," "I’ve Got A Crush On You," "Someone To Watch Over Me," "Let’s Do It" and "Easy To Love" are both memorable and haunting. This reissue is a gem as is the followup Audiophile release of Rodgers & Hart and Harold Arlen songs. ~Scott Yanow




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *