Laurie Wheeler & Nash De Ville – Things Ain’t What They Used To Be

Artist: Laurie Wheeler & Nash De Ville
Title: Things Ain’t What They Used To Be
Year Of Release: 2002
Label: Summit Records
Genre: Jazz / Vocal Jazz
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 43:03 min
Total Size: 101 MB

01. Jeanie
02. Lil’ Darlin
03. The Glow Worm
04. I Like To Riff
05. Centerpiece
06. You Can Depend On Me
07. Down For The Count
08. That Cat Is High
09. Tuxedo Junction
10. Gone
11. Things Ain’t What They Used To Be
12. Choo Choo Ch’boogie

Laurie, with her jazz vocal trio Nash deVille, recreate Big Band swing classics, with an edge. Her professional jazz colleagues commonly refer to Laurie Wheeler as an instrumentalist whose instrument happens to be her voice. Laurie has been ranked one of the World’s Top 10 Female Jazz Vocalists 2 years in a row by the DownBeat Readers poll. She has performed with such notables as Larry Carlton, Robben Ford, Michael McDonald, Louis Bellson, Steve Winwood, Buddy DeFranco, Charlie Byrd, and Bobby Peterson.
A veteran of jazz for over 20 years, Laurie has released 4 CD’s – From the Land of Dreams, Twisted, Laurie Wheeler and Nash deVille, and Twilight. Her albums showcase tight vocal harmonies, be-bop scats, impressive arrangements, original song style, and her love and expertise of the art of vocalese. Laurie currently calls Nashville home, and aside from touring and writing songs for her next project, she dedicates much of her time helping young, aspiring musicians develop their talents.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *