Kenny Werner – Coalition (2014)

Artist: Kenny Werner, Lionel Loueke, Miguel Zenon, Benjamin Koppel, Ferenc Nemeth
Title: Coalition
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Half Note Records
Genre: Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks) / MP3
Total Time: 57:46 min
Total Size: 341 MB / 132 MB

1. Phonetics #2 (Folk Dance) (8:38)
2. April Blue (7:09)
3. Flying (10:29)
4. Swan Song (12:07)
5. Tune 4 (8:42)
6. Wishful Dreaming (10:53)
Kenny Werner – piano, Rhodes;
Miguel Zenon – alto saxophone;
Benjamin Koppel – alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, baritone saxophone;
Lionel Loueke – guitar, vocals;
Ferenc Nemeth – drums.

Kenny Werner assembles a new band, borne out of his desire to extend his reach and play alongside path-finding instrumentalists. Guitarist Lionel Loueke and altoist Miguel Zenon are two such individuals. Once coupled with drummer Ferenc Nemeth and Danish saxophonist Benjamin Koppel, a true COALITION emerged. Werner’s singular sensibilities may have initiated the group as his own, yet COALITION proves itself a rare manifesto on collaborative interplay.
This studio project – Werner’s sixth recording for the Half Note label – reinforces his reputation as a conceptualizer and ‘effortless master’ without peer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *