Katie Burden – Strange Moon (2016)

Artist: Katie Burden
Title: Strange Moon
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Cautionary Tail
Genre: Alternative, Indie Pop
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 43:03
Total Size: 106 Mb

01. Don’t Ask 03:51
02. Run for Your Life 03:51
03. I Can See It Clear 03:52
04. Cut the Wire 04:46
05. Ears 05:07
06. Hunter 03:27
07. Strange Moon 05:34
08. My Kind 03:22
09. Too Good for Love 04:27
10. Coffee 04:40

Katie Burden’s stylized atmospheric rock and shamanistic delivery often conjure up the ghost of Jim Morrison but in a modern context, falls somewhere between Bat for Lashes and Joan as Police Woman.
After being Raised in a small hippy town in Colorado, Burden spent her formative years bouncing around NYC and later San Francisco. In 2012 she moved to LA and after attending a meditation retreat, synchronistically fell in with a group of blue chip musicians including drummer/producer Norm Block (Mark Lanegan, Jennylee of Warpaint and Plexi) and guitarist Jen Turner of Here We Go Magic and Explanation Pony. Katie happened to have hundreds of song sketches recorded as voice memos on her phone and after she played them for her new friends there was no looking back. Block stepped into the roles of Producer while turner helped flesh out the recordings that became Burden’s debut EP My BLind Eye.
Upon her return of promoting that Ep she felt pulled back into the studio where she began tracking her follow up full length Strange Moon again at Block’s Happy Ending Studios, Silverlake, with her new tightly knit band of collaborators. The dark and moody undercurrents of the new material called for Burden to dig deeper into her emotional well, something that she struggled with when performing the songs. "I have a hard time feeling emotions sometimes" the songwriter notes. "Art makes me less afraid to feel and also less alone."




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *