Jacky Terrasson & Cassandra Wilson – Rendezvous

Artist: Jacky Terrasson & Cassandra Wilson
Title: Rendezvous
Year Of Release: 1997
Label: Blue Note Records
Genre: Jazz / Vocal Jazz
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 49:01 min
Total Size: 113 MB

01. Old Devil Moon
02. Chan’s Song
03. Tennessee Waltz
04. Little Boy Lost
05. Autumn Leaves
06. It Might As Well Be Spring
07. My Ship
08. I Remember You
09. Tea For Two
10. If Ever I Would Leave You
11. Chicago 1987

For this notable set, pianist Jacky Terrasson teams up with the smoky, chance-taking vocalist Cassandra Wilson, either Lonnie Plaxico or Kenny Davis on bass and percussionist Mino Cinelu. The music is quite impressionistic and atmospheric. Terrasson and Wilson stick to standards, but their renditions of such songs as "Old Devil Moon," "My Ship," "Tea for Two" and even "Tennessee Waltz" are quite haunting and floating, slightly disturbing and occasionally sensuous. Terrasson, who takes "Autumn Leaves" and "Chicago 1987" (the one non-standard) as solo pieces, was on his way to forming his own style, while Wilson had certainly found her niche. An intriguing matchup. ~ Scott Yanow
Personnel: Jacky Terrasson (acoustic & electric pianos); Cassandra Wilson (vocals); Lonnie Plaxico, Kenny Davis (bass); Mino Cinelu (percussion).




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *