Horslips – The Book of Invasions: A Celtic Symphony [LP] (1976)

Artist: Horslips
Title: The Book of Invasions: A Celtic Symphony [LP]
Year Of Release: 1976
Label: DJM Records [DJF 20498]
Genre: Celtic, Folk-Rock, Progressive Rock
Quality: FLAC (tracks, scans) [24 Bit/96 kHz]
Total Time: 41:09
Total Size: 935 MB

Horslips are an Irish Celtic rock band that compose, arrange and perform songs based on traditional Irish jigs and reels. The group are regarded as ‘founding fathers of Celtic rock’ for their fusion of traditional Irish music with rock music and went on to inspire many local and international acts. They formed in 1970 and ‘retired’ in 1980 for an extended period. The name originated from a spoonerism on The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse which became "The Four Poxmen of The Horslypse"
Horslips were one of Ireland’s leading rock groups of their era. Although they had limited commercial success in their own lifetime, there was a revival of interest in their music in the late 1990s and they came to be regarded as one of the defining bands of the Celtic rock genre. There have since been small scale reunions including appearances on The Late Late Show and RTÉ’s Other Voices. The band reformed for two Irish shows in the Odyssey Arena in Belfast and the O2 Arena in Dublin at the end of 2009, and have continued to play shows since then.

First Movement – Geantraí
A1 Daybreak
A2 March Into Trouble
A3 Trouble With A Capital ‘T’
A4 The Power And The Glory
A5 The Rocks Remain
A6 Dusk
A7 Sword Of Light
A8 Dark
2nd Movement – Goltraí
B1 Warm Sweet Breath Of Love
B2 Fantasia – My Lagan Love
B3 King Of Morning, Queen Of Day
3rd Movement – Suantraí
B4 Sideways To The Sun
B5 Drive The Cold Winter Away
B6 Ride To Hell
Bass, Vocals – Barry Devlin
Drums, Percussion – Eamon Carr
Fiddle, Mandolin, Concertina, Vocals – Charles O’Connor
Guitar, Vocals – John Fean
Keyboards, Flute, Whistle – Jim Lockhart



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *