Gloria Lynne – Serenade In Blue (2015) 320kbps

Artist: Gloria Lynne
Title: Serenade In Blue
Year Of Release: 2015 (1994)
Genre: Jazz / Blues / Soul
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 30:46 min
Total Size: 101 MB

01. I Wish You Love
02. Impossible
03. The Jazz In You
04. Serenade In Blue
05. I Will Follow You
06. I’m Glad There Is You
07. But Not For Me
08. This Little Boy Of Mine
09. I Should Care
10. He Needs Me

Gloria Lynne recorded many albums for Everest in her early days, slipped away into obscurity, and then in the 1990s made a comeback. An excellent singer whose style falls between bop, 1950s middle-of-the-road pop, and early soul, Lynne was always capable of putting on a colorful show. Her mother was a gospel singer and Lynne started out singing in church. She had five years of concert training and in 1951 won the legendary amateur competition at the Apollo Theater. Lynne sang with some vocal groups, became a solo artist, and in 1958 was discovered by Raymond Scott, who at the time was a top A&R man at Everest.
During her busy period with Everest (at least ten records were cut between 1958-1963), Lynne had hits in "I Wish You Love" (a song she virtually made a standard) and "I’m Glad There Is You." She recorded with both orchestras and jazz combos, becoming quite popular for a period. However, with the rise of rock and the change in the public’s musical tastes, Lynne was forgotten for a time. Only a commercial record in 1975 for ABC broke the silence. But starting in the early ’80s, Lynne started working regularly again, regained some of her earlier fame, and in the early ’90s recorded a couple of CDs for Muse; her initial Everest date also reappeared as an Evidence CD. Gloria Lynne has remained active into the 21st century, and issued one of her strongest albums in decades, From My Heart to Yours, on the Highnote label in 2007. ~ Scott Yanow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *