Gerry Gibbs Thrasher Dream Trio – Live In Studio (2015)

Artist: Gerry Gibbs Thrasher Dream Trio
Title: Live In Studio
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Whaling City Sound
Genre: Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
Total Time: 01:15:26
Total Size: 506 MB


01. Wives And Lovers [6:09]
02. The Summer Knows [6:01]
03. The Look Of Love [4:35]
04. Spartacus Love Theme [3:38]
05. On A Clear Day [6:45]
06. Surry With The Fringe On Top [3:54]
07. Alfie [6:28]
08. Watch What Happens (instrumental) [5:23]
09. Theme From A Man And A Woman [3:34]
10. Cast Your Fate To The Wind [3:24]
11. What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life? [5:46]
12. More (From Mondo Cane) [4:21]
13. Watch What Happens (vocal) [4:06]
14. Music To Watch The Girls Go By [4:15]
15. Girl Talk [4:44]
16. Charade [4:28]


Kenny Barron – piano;
Ron Carter – acoustic bass;
Gerry Gibbs – drums;
Roy Hargrove – trumpet, flugelhorn (5, 7, 11, 16);
Cassandra Wilson – vocals (3, 7, 13).

The album features a truly all-star line-up. Gibbs is joined by his Thrasher Dream Trio mates – Kenny Barron and Ron Carter – and special guests Roy Hargrove and Cassandra Wilson on several tracks.

The album opens with the upbeat standard "Wives and Lovers," a song that allows Barron to really stretch out. It’s one of several songs on the album penned by legendary composer Burt Bacharach.

Wilson’s vocals on Bacharach’s "The Look of Love" are delightfully menacing – the tune is anchored by Carter’s bass and Gibbs’s drums. Her brooding take is also dominant on "Alfie" and "Watch What Happens," although the mood improves on the latter. Wilson clearly enjoyed the opportunity to play with the band, noting in the liner notes "With Barron and Carter, they can call me for a gig at the Blue Igloo in Antarctica.

Buy Premium From My Links To Get Resumable Support,Max Speed & Support Me

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *