Gerald Albright – Pushing The Envelope (2010)

Artist: Gerald Albright
Title: Pushing The Envelope
Year Of Release: 2010
Label: Heads Up
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks) / MP3
Total Time: 52:43 min
Total Size: 367 MB / 127 MB

01. What Would James Do? (feat. Fred Wesley) [5:34]
02. Get On The Floor [4:56]
03. Bobo’s Groove [5:03]
04. Capetown Strut [4:52]
05. Close To You [4:57]
06. I Found The Klugh (feat. Earl Klugh) [5:36]
07. Embrace The Spirit [6:02]
08. The Road To Peace (feat. George Duke) [5:10]
09. Highway 70 [4:53]
10. From The Soul [5:41]

Jazz and R&B icon Gerald Albright is considered to be one of the most innovative and successful artists of the last twenty-five years. With the release of Pushing The Envelope, Albright’s super cool side is back. With its polished soul/jazz vibe, Pushing The Envelope is a showcase for Albright’s remarkably fine balance of songcraft and musicianship, and features special guest appearances by Fred Wesley on trombone, Earl Klugh on acoustic guitar and George Duke on acoustic piano.
Produced and arranged by Albright, Pushing The Envelope provides the perfect opportunity for this master musician/saxophonist/songwriter to exhibit his skills. He plays soprano, alto, tenor and baritone saxophones, flutes, bass guitar, and keyboards, and also handles synthesizer, EWI and drum programming. Albright’s band on most of the album includes keyboardists Tracy Carter and Luther "Mano" Hanes, guitarist Ricky Watford and drummer Ricky Lawson.
Pushing the Envelope is easily Gerald Albright’s most rewarding session to date. "The title reflects all the tunes on the project," Albright says. "I didn’t want to hold anything back. I really wanted to push the envelope and give people a little more edge. I come from the era where we didn’t think of a formula – we went from the gut."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *