George Colligan – Past-Present-Future

Artist: George Colligan
Title: Past-Present-Future
Year Of Release: 2005
Label: Criss Cross
Genre: Jazz
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 63:05 min
Total Size: 143 MB

01. Sophisticated Lady
02. Akatumbo
03. East Of The Sun
04. This Nearly Was Mine
05. Past Present Future
06. Three Views Of A Secret
07. Cinema Paradiso
08. Holiday For Strings
09. Body And Soul
10. Invitation

With a string of recordings for Fresh Sound and Steeplechase, George Colligan established himself as one of the strongest new pianists in jazz. His first Criss Cross outing, Ultimatum (2002), focused exclusively on original material. On the followup, Past-Present-Future, only the title track is original-and a memorable one at that. The slant toward covers is atypical for Colligan (save for 2000’s Stomping Ground), but it confirms his ability to make personal statements via standards and not-so-standards. Bassist Vicente Archer and drummer Bill Stewart are new to the Colligan discography but complement one another and know how to stir up trouble. ~David Adler

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *