George Benson – Good King Bad / Benson & Farrell (2010)

Artist: George Benson
Title: Good King Bad / Benson & Farrell (2LP on 1CD, Remastered)
Year Of Release: 2010 (1976)
Label: BGO Records [VGOCD913]
Genre: Soul-Jazz, Jazz-Funk, Smooth Jazz
Quality: APE (image+.cue+.log)
Total Time: 01:18:46
Total Size: 420 MB
195 MB (Scans)


Good King Bad: The R&B elements get stronger, the sound and mix are more attuned to the dancefloor, yet this brings out the best in George Benson’s funky side. Thanks in part to the more rigid beat, Benson pares down his style to its rhythmic essentials, refusing to spray notes all over the place at random, and as a result, the record cooks and dances. His treatment of Vince Guaraldi’s "Cast Your Fate to the Wind," hugely complemented by Joe Farrell’s wistfully prancing flute, is a mini-masterpiece in the use of space, of hitting exactly the right stabbing note right in the pocket. Again, Creed Taylor turns to a James Brown alumnus, David Matthews, for arrangements, and he discreetly and wisely stays out of Bad George’s way. Buy this one for "Cast Your Fate," but there is plenty more to savor here.
Benson & Farrell: This little-known CTI recording matches guitarist George Benson and Joe Farrell, a multi-reed player who mostly sticks to flute. Joined by a large rhythm section and sometimes two other flutists (including Eddie Daniels), Benson and Farrell play four originals by session arranger Dave Matthews, plus the standard "Old Devil Moon." This pleasing if not all that memorable instrumental date was recorded right after Benson’s Breezin’ (and before its release), ending the guitarist’s CTI period right before he became a vocal star.

Good King Bad:
01. Theme From Good King (6:03)
02. One Rock Don’t Make No Boulder (6:49)
03. Em (4:55)
04. Cast Your Fate To The Wind (6:59)
05. Siberian Workout (6:44)
06. Shell O A Man (5:15)
07. Hold On, I’m Coming (5:44)
Benson & Farrell:
08. Flute Song (6:05)
09. Beyond The Ozone (7:03)
10. Camel Hump (6:24)
11. Rolling Home (7:15)
12. Old Devil Moon (9:24)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *