Dr. Hector & The Groove Injectors – Emergency (1991)

Artist: Dr. Hector & The Groove Injectors
Title: Emergency
Year Of Release: 1991
Label: Valley Media
Genre: Blues, Modern Electric Blues
Quality: Mp3/320 kbps
Total Time: 40:14
Total Size: 109 Mb (covers)

1. Emergency (3:40)
2. When Did Love Let Go (5:06)
3. A Woman Like You (3:06)
4. Don’t Be Afraid (4:17)
5. Downtown Drinking (4:04)
6. Southern Fried Groove (4:21)
7. Bad News (4:25)
8. 14 Carat Fool (4:25)
9. Double Trouble (3:17)
10. Just To Satisfy You (3:28)

One of the pleasures of traveling around the U.S. is listening to bar bands in out of the way dives. Whether you’re in Oregon, Georgia, Colorado, or Pennsylvania, a good bar band may not be cutting-edge, trendy, or experimental but can win you over with its infectiousness and its sense of fun. One such bar band is Dr. Hector & the Groove Injectors, whose Emergency makes you feel like you’ve wandered into a cool dive somewhere in Middle America.
People who heard this 1991 release tended to place it in the blues-rock category – and, to be sure, "Downtown Drinking" "14 Carat Fool," and "Bad News" are catchy examples of blues-rock. But many of the other tunes are best described as roots rock with a strong southern soul influence. Tracks like "Southern Fried Groove" and "Don’t Be Afraid" give the impression that Dr. Hector & the Groove Injectors have spent a lot of time listening to Otis Redding, Wilson Pickett, Sam & Dave, and other southern-style soulsters who were big in the 1960s.
And, in fact, Dr. Hector & the Groove Injectors are a southern band; Emergency was recorded at King Snake’s Sanford, FL studio. Although not the most original album in the world, Emergency is easy to enjoy if you have a taste for earthy, unpretentious bar bands. /Alex Henderson, AllMusic




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *