Doug Deming & the Jewel Tones – Double Down (2002)

Artist: Doug Deming & the Jewel Tones
Title: Double Down
Year Of Release: 2002
Label: Mighty Tiger
Genre: Blues, Electric Blues
Quality: Mp3/320 kbps
Total Time: 52:16
Total Size: 203 Mb (covers)

1. Goodbye Baby
2. Blackjack
3. Bad for You
4. Make It Last
5. You Don’t Even Care
6. Let Me Be
7. HDF
8. On the Midnight Shift
9. Mr. Blues
10. It’s a Crime
11. All About the Digits
12. Double Down

Detroit bluesman Doug Deming and his working band, The Jewel Tones, make their recording debut with a hard-hitting set. Deming and co. have been a mainstay in the Motor City for the past few years, and they’re often called to back a number of international blues performers including Chicago’s A.C. Reed, Johnnie Dyer, Alberta Adams, Johnny "Yard Dog" Jones and others. Deming, on guitar and vocals, combines various form of traditional blues from West Coast jump to Texas/Chicago shuffles to Louisiana swamp boogie. He’s been the driving force behind the band (formerly the Blue Suit Band) since its beginnings in 1991. Doug and his band play a pure traditional music from the heart with deep respect and love for the music. Doug acknowledges a musical debt to T-Bone Walker, Charlie Christian as well as modern bluesmen like Jimmie Vaughan and Ronnie Earl. Upright bass player Dale Jennings adds depth and authenticity to the group’s sound and drummer Don Gruendler Jr. reminds of a young Gene Krupa. The harp work is from Brian Miller on all but two tracks. It’s Gregg ‘Fingers’ Taylor who adds his touch on those two tracks. Other featured guests are Denny Freeman, Chris Codish, Rick Holmstrom and Steve Mugalian.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *