David Fiuczynski – Flam! Blam! Pan-Asian MicroJam! (2016)

Artist: David Fiuczynski
Title: Flam! Blam! Pan-Asian MicroJam!
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: RareNoiseRecords
Genre: Jazz ModernCreative / Jazz-Rock
Quality: MP3/320 kbps
Total Time: 46:50
Total Size: 116 MB

1. Loon-Y Tunes. 6:14
2. Dance of the UiraPuru. 4:26
3. Flam. 3:47
4. Q&A Solitaire. 2:03
5. Oiseaux JDillique. 2:38
6. Gagaku Chord Candy. 6:56
7. Waldstimmen. 4:20
8. Uira Happy Jam. 4:22
9. Organ Wren. 4:42
10. Loon-Ly Solitaire. 7:22

Fiuczynski opened the Pandora’s Box on non-Western tuning on his 2012 RareNoiseRecords debut, Planet MicroJam. He pushes the envelope even further on his latest microtonal project, Flam! Blam! Pan-Asian MicroJam! Jointly dedicated to 20th century classical composer Olivier Messiaen and innovative hip-hop record producer J Dilla, this ambitious venture has the guitarist-composer pursuing his passion for the notes that fall between the cracks with his intrepid microtonal crew. The seven movements that comprise Flam! instigated by Fiuczynski receiving a 2011 Guggenheim Fellowship, show the connections between exotic bird calls and J Dilla’s famous ‘flam beats’ while also referencing the colors of Messiaen’s music, Gagaku, the ancient court music of Japan, and other Pan-Asian ingredients. The three extra tracks that comprise Blam! feature special guest Rudresh Mahanthappa on alto saxophone. Fiuczynski is joined on both portions of his latest release by former Microjam Institute students Utar Artun on microtonal keyboard, Yazhi Guo on suona (Chinese oboe) and percussion, Helen Sherrah-Davies on violin, Jack Sherman on microtonal keyboard, Justin Schornstein on bass and Alex Bailey on drums.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *