Dave Edmunds – Get It (Reissue ) (1977/1990)

Artist: Dave Edmunds
Title: Get It
Year Of Release: 1977/1990
Label: Swan Song
Genre: Blues Rock, Country Rock, Pub Rock, Roots Rock, Rock’n’Roll
Quality: Flac (tracks, .cue, log)
Total Time: 31:47
Total Size: 249 Mb (scans)

1. Get Out Of Denver
2. I Knew The Bride
3. Back To School Days
4. Here Comes The Weekend
5. Worn Out Suits, Brand New Pockets
6. Where Or When
7. Juju Man
8. Git It
9. Let’s Talk About Us
10. Hey Good Lookin’
11. What Did I Do Last Night?
12. Little Darlin’
13. My Baby Left Me

Get It marks a significant departure from Dave Edmunds’ early records, as it is the first time he’s backed by a full band. Most of Get It was recorded with a fledgling version of Rockpile, with other sessionmen filling in when necessary, and the live band gives the album an energetic feel which Edmunds’ had previously ignored. Just as importantly, the song selection is more carefully considered than before, containing only a handful of classics and obscure rock & roll tunes, but concentrating on pub rock staples ("Get Out of Denver," "Back to School Days," "JuJu Man"), and songs written or co-written by Nick Lowe, which gives the album a freshness lacking on his early records. Lowe’s homages to the Everly Brothers ("Here Comes the Weekend"), Chuck Berry ("I Knew the Bride"), and Phil Spector ("Little Darlin’") are more appealing than Edmunds’ re-creations of the originals, because Lowe’s songs are lyrically and musically clever. But Edmunds knows how to make them sound like forgotten classics, and that’s why Get It is one of his very best albums.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *