Chris Bell & 100% Blues – The Best (2006)

Artist: Chris Bell & 100% Blues
Title: The Best
Year Of Release: 2006
Label: Silver Bridge Records
Genre: Blues, Electric Chicago Blues
Quality: Mp3 320 / APE (image, .cue, log)
Total Time: 47:31
Total Size: 118/287 Mb (scans)

01. Two Jobs
02. Cold-Hearted Woman
03. She Found Another Man
04. Elevator To Heaven
05. Wine Cooler
06. Money Doesn’t Grow On Trees
07. It’s a Shame
08. 24 Hours a Day
09. That Ain’t Right
10. Cotton Pickin’ Blues

Contemporary electric blues just doesn’t get any better. Chris Bell sings his own songs on this album, and he sings ’em convincingly. Backed up by Hammond organ, bass and drums, the singer offers genuine blues with a message for everyone: "Its hard getting’ by, hard makin’ ends meet." "You gotta work two jobs to just get ahead." His searing guitar weeps alongside, with a solid message to complement passionate pieces such as "She Found Another Man," "Opposites Attract" and "Cold-Hearted Woman." His stories are timeless. Bell sings, "I don’t mind if you treat me like a fool, but I hate it when you lie." He adds, "Don’t be wasting my time" and "you’re lying’ to me." Well, haven’t we all been through that at some point in time? The degree to which we’re affected may vary, but Bell connects on every level. His soulful guitar adds an emotional pleas that drives the message home. Elsewhere, Bell adds harmonica and slide guitar to alter the texture of his stories. It works. He ends the session with a traditional salute to the roots of blues music, singing "I’m goin’ down to the crossroads at seven" and "as long as I’m playin’ the blues, you’ll have to bury me alive." Bell’s poignant performance reaches out and gets you right where you’re sure to feel it…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *