The Brand New Heavies – All About The Funk

Artist: The Brand New Heavies
Title: All About The Funk
Year Of Release: 2004
Label: OneTwo Records
Genre: Acid Jazz / Rhythmic Soul / Funk
Quality: FLAC (tracks) / MP3
Total Time: 51:28 min
Total Size: 330 MB / 115 MB

01. Boogie (3:52)
02. Need Some More (3:57)
03. Waste My Time (3:29)
04. Keep On Shining (4:20)
05. What Do You Take Me For? (4:34)
06. Surrender (3:47)
07. Many Rivers To Cross (3:32)
08. How Do You Think (3:49)
09. Every Time We Turn It Up (3:42)
10. It Could Be Me (4:35)
11. I Feel Right (5:55)
12. How We Do This (05:50)

The Brand New Heavies began in the 1980s as an instrumental acid jazz group called Brother International.
The group came up with the Heavies name after signing their first record contract, borrowing from a liner note on a James Brown single declaring the artist "Minister of New Super Heavy Funk". As The Brand New Heavies they gained a cult following in the London club scene and soon signed to Cooltempo as acid jazz replaced rare groove in clubs. The band issued a debut recording for Eddie Piller’s Acid Jazz label in 1990 with Jay Ella Ruth as lead singer.
The Brand New Heavies then released their greatest hits album, Trunk Funk – The Best of The Brand New Heavies (2000) with Carleen Anderson on vocals for some newly recorded songs, followed by the Japan only album We Won’t Stop (2003) featuring a variety of vocalists and Allaboutthefunk (2004) featuring British singer Nicole Russo on vocals.
What they did do is take their classic funk leanings and added more hip hop and club influences which adds freshness to the new material. Nicole Russo is another welcome addition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *