Boney James – Shine

Artist: Boney James
Title: Shine
Year Of Release: 2006
Label: Concord Records
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Quality: FLAC (image) / MP3
Total Time: 50:45 min
Total Size: 346 MB / 121 MB

01. Shine (feat. Esthero) [04:22]
02. The Total Experience (feat. George Duke) [03:59]
03. Aquas De Marco (Waters of March) [04:00]
04. Let It Go [04:00]
05. In the Rain (feat. Dwele) [05:00]
06. Gonna Get It (feat. Faith Evans) [03:55]
07. Breathe [03:59]
08. Love Song (feat. Philip Bailey) [04:50]
09. Hypnotic (feat. George Benson) [04:13]
10. The Way She Walks [04:01]
11. Dedication [04:44]
12. Soft (feat. Ann Nesby) [03:36]
Boney James (flute, saxophone, keyboards);
Dwele, Esthero, Faith Evans, Philip Bailey, Ann Nesby (vocals);
George Benson , Paul Jackson, Jr., Wah-Wah Watson (guitar);
Alex Al (bass);
George Duke, Boney James (keyboards);
Lil’ John Roberts, Jr. (drums);
Lenny Castro (percussion).

You’d never know it from the effortlessly soulful melodies and silky grooves of his records, but Boney James becomes a mad scientist in the studio while working to create sounds that feel as soothing as a tropical breeze. Shine finds the veteran musician conjuring an array of moods from the jaunty bounce of the title track and ‘Gonna Get It’ to the velvety seductions of ‘Love Song’ and ‘Hypnotic’, from the delicate ‘In The Rain’ and the introspective ‘Dedication’ to the ebullient stride of ‘Let It Go’. What ties it all together, apart from Boney’s endlessly lyrical, emotive playing on tenor, soprano and alto sax (among other instruments), is a glow of joy that’s as evident in the records languid passages as in its most effusive solos Energized by a new release on a new label, Boney reaffirms his excitement about returning to the road. The communal experience of playing live thats why I became a musician in the first place, he insists. Its exciting and liberating. It never gets old for me. —

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *