Beady Belle – On My Own (2016)

Artist: Beady Belle
Title: On My Own
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Jazzland Recordings
Genre: Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks) / MP3
Total Time: 46:22 min
Total Size: 270 MB / 106 MB

01. Marbles (05:24)
02. On My Own (04:25)
03. Castle (04:35)
04. Bury (04:55)
05. Almost (05:14)
06. Incompatible (03:54)
07. Lost Face (04:10)
08. Dear Hope (03:43)
09. The Clouds (05:33)
10. Traffic in Mumbai (04:25)

Recorded in New York City, ‘On My Own’ is the eighth album by Norwegian group Beady Belle. It features a strong – but not overpowering – undercurrent of 70s soul and vocal jazz, mixing intimacy and exuberance, and pulsations both urban and urbane. The musicians include Bugge Wesseltoft (who is also the producer) on keys, Gregory Hutchinson on drums, Reuben Rogers on bass, saxophonist Joshua Redman, trumpeter Mathias Eick and vocalist Torun Eriksen.
Beady Belle is led by charismatic vocalist/composer Beate S. Lech, whose compositional and lyrical skills are showcased here as never before, weaving new tapestries through which her voice is the golden thread. Melodically gripping, harmonically intricate, lyrically intelligent (without pretentiousness), and underpinned by solid grooves. With each new release, her voice has become richer, more capable, and laced with nuance and subtle expressiveness. Simply put, there is no-one else like her.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *